A Little Taste

I’ve been working on a bunch of short stories lately. I’m hoping to put a collection of 4 stories together and make it available as an ebook. Here are a couple of snippets from what I’ve done so far:

Here’s one from Nosepicker:

“Aubrey Hughes,” is the next name that jumps out at me.
“Here,” sings a voice from the back of the room. I turn around.
I hadn’t seen Aubrey enter the room. Of course, she is sitting next to Jeremy. Aubrey is the cutest girl in the freshman class. She has been class president for the past three years and she is a cheerleader. Unlike the other drones in her clique, Aubrey has never laughed at me for my habit. Not even once. I keep track.
I’m still turned around, staring at Aubrey when my name is called.
“Theodore … Kaz…rinski?” The teacher stumbles over my name.
I watch Aubrey. She’s whispering something to her friend. She sees me staring at her and winks. I almost choke.
“Theodore Kazrinski? Like the Unibomber?” Mrs. Stitch is still tripping over my name.
“Here,” I say, quickly, to shut her up. ““It’s KazRINski, not Kazinski. I go by Kaz.”
Mrs. Stitch raises her eyebrows and writes the nickname down on her paper.
“Interesting nickname,” she murmurs.
“Everyone calls him Nosepicker,” Jeremy mutters from the back of the classroom. People around me snicker.

Here’s one from The Band Trip. It’s still a work in progress and I’m not sure it’ll end up being part of the collection. I recently thought of a completely different story and I’ll have to see which one turns out better:

Was it too much to ask for a normal weekend? A normal band trip? Was normal so outlandishly out of the question in my life right now? The way things were going in my life, normal had become the new terrific. Anything slightly more exciting, slightly better than normal would be truly glorious.

“Soph,” she said, her voice in one of those whisper-shouts where she really wants everyone to listen. “I’m just so incredibly sorry about the whole thing with Vic.”

Vic?

1. She wasn’t sorry. She was manipulative.

2. I had begged – pleaded – with my mother to let me skip the band competition in Montreal after everything that happened at Deepa’s party, but my mother, along with every teacher at our school and most of the kids in our grade, had fallen prey to Charity’s manipulation and told me that I should “give her a chance.” A chance to do what? She already stole my boyfriend.

3. Two days ago his name was Victor and he was my boyfriend. Now he’s Vic and dating Charity Hopkins, so it looked like I was the only sorry one in the entire scenario.

Okay, posting that really makes me like the story again. I think it’s the ending that doesn’t work, so I’ll have to deal with it.

And lastly! Here’s a snippet from my favorite story of the bunch: 240sx, or The Awesomely Tragic Death of a Car Named KITT in the Haunted Woods of Igoe:

I was still smiling at Colette when her expression changed. “Oh my gosh,” she said. She was looking past me, out my window. The color emptied out of her face until she was completely white.

“What?” I turned to look, my car inching down the path. Directly out my window, just feet from my face, were thick tree roots, and one of the roots had letters carved in it: WS.

KITT sputtered to a stop.

“Oh, God,” Sarah said. “I could have sworn I made up half of that story.”

“Okay, D,” Joel said with a tremble to his voice. “Let’s move along now.”

I tapped the gas and nothing happened.

Ah, high school! The torture, the fun, the friends and enemies! High school is like… well, there’s just nothing else ever like it (thank God) so maybe that’s why I love writing about it so much. Okay, off to work on the ending of The Band Trip.

One response to “A Little Taste

  1. Pingback: 240sx: A better taste | christywrites

Leave a Reply

