To Rhyme, or Not To Rhyme?

I tend to write my poems for one of two reasons:

1. I’m dealing with some crazy, strong emotion, and the poem serves as my catharsis. For example: I’m missing someone, or I’m wondering how I got to whatever place I’m in, or something in my life crashed around me. (yes, I can be very sensitive that way). But because I am usually an extremely happy person and I sincerely can’t stand being upset or sad, I write to work through the feelings and move beyond them.

or,

2. I get a line stuck in my head; a line that just won’t go away, and I know I need to write it. I’ll put it in a story (That’s how Hot Heat got started), or I’ll work it into a poem and figure out a theme for that poem. These are often my favorites, because I can take things from my life and melt and swirl them into the images and themes I want to convey. It’s still personal, but not too personal, like how the other poems are.

So what about rhyming? I’ve noticed in a lot of contemporary poems I read (specifically poems I read in literary journals or works by “professional” poets), that they don’t rhyme. I love rhyming poems. I wish that all of mine could rhyme, but sometimes they just don’t, which is okay, too.

What do you think? Do you rhyme or not rhyme? What gets you started writing? I’d love to hear other writers’ processes!

And don’t forget! You can download my collection of poems – Poetic Pause: A Book of Poems – for FREE for the month of May with the code: ZX95Y

3 responses to “To Rhyme, or Not To Rhyme?

  1. I’ve just recently started dabbling in poetry and have found I can’t rhyme to save my life. There was a time where I thought I should give up writing poems altogether. It wasn’t until I realized the poems I like to read very rarely rhymed. I respond more to flow, rhythm, and mood both as a reader and as a writer. However, I have so much admiration for those who can get those words to rhyme – it is truly an art. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m glad you stumbled onto this page. I really like your writing.
      I think that non-rhyming poetry might be a little intimidating to me, like it will be over my head (it sometimes is). And I’m a sucker for rhythm, so rhyme just sometimes seems to tag along.

Leave a Reply

