Something old, something new

I’ve been a bit of a slacker this week with posting, so here’s two poems.

The first one, A Like Poem, is in my ebook of poetry, which you can still download for FREE until the end of May. Then the next one, which I just call Nathanael right now is a new one.

A Like Poem

We’re alike in different ways
Alike but different is sometimes okay

We’re alike but we talk differently;
Put me the South, but keep the Jersey in me

Alike and different, we split them in half
I try to be sad, but you make me laugh

We’re alike but we do different things;
I watch from the sidelines while you pull the strings

Alike but different is how we’ll stay
Alike but different is sometimes okay

Nathanael

Here am I sitting
under a fig tree
when you come along and
say Follow Me

My old life is dead
my soul is set free
I’ve been Nathanael
a proud pharisee

I climb to see you
from the sycamore tree
when you call me down and
then dine with me

My old life is dead
my soul is set free
I’ve been Zaccheus
a proud pharisee

I take the forbidden
fruit from the tree
when you call me out and
then you clothe me

my old life is dead
my soul is set free
I’ve been Adam and Eve
a proud pharisee

Yes, as for me I grow
like a green olive tree
in your house I flourish
for you so love me

my old life is dead
my soul is set free
I’m like David the psalmist
redeemed, your grace, holy

3 responses to “Something old, something new

  1. you have very creative mind and stunning imaginations.
    keep it up.

    Greetings,

    How is your day?

    Please share 1 to 3 poems with Jingle Poetry potluck today,
    Have fun!

    Love your talent, and appreciate your support very much!

    Old poems or poems unrelated to our theme are all welcome!
    Click on my link to visit and view the collection!
    All free and fun, no commenting requirement.
    Hope to see you share.

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

