The Monster In My Room (Poem)

I keep a monster in my room
in the closet
under the bed

I keep a monster in my room
to keep him out
from inside my head

I put the monster in my room
to keep him out of my own mind

I feed him insecurities
He’s stuffed full with my lies

He grows and grows so big
and I wonder if he’ll go

He might be here to stay
if I never tell him no

The monster’s name is
vanity, and shame,
and sometimes pride

And this bigger, bigger
monster is getting difficult to hide

We fight sometimes, we wrestle
and I pin him to the floor

I send him packing, gone, but
then he’s knocking at my door

I let the monster in my room
in the closet
under the bed

And someday soon the monster’s spot
will be replaced by beauty
instead

6 responses to “The Monster In My Room (Poem)

Leave a Reply

