Unzipped – Poem

I zip myself up
into your embrace
I zip out the world
all the trials I face

I keep joy in my heart
this joy buried so deep
your waters surround me
my joy in it steeps

I pull in the stuffing
and zip myself closed
I draw in and secure
there is nothing exposed

Your joy is a whisper
that grows like a wind
to rustle the grains
where the shadows had been

My cocoon is my safety
it’s there I’m made whole
the patches of joy
placed all over my soul

I revel in this, Lord
your sweet, safe embrace
where your joy like vines spread
to create a holy place

Psalm 28:6-7
Blessed be God—
he heard me praying.
He proved he’s on my side;
I’ve thrown my lot in with him.

Now I’m jumping for joy,
and shouting and singing my thanks to him.

Leave a Reply

