Wide Open – Poem

I open wide my mouth
and swallow your name
the words rush out again
like rivers of flames

The sacrament pours in
heals and seals my tattered soul
the words that flow along reveal
and unravel like a scroll

In and out I drink and then
I’m drowning in this bliss
the words from my mouth
become faith’s healing kiss

I open wide my mouth
I hold tight with my fists
I release what I’ve been given
These words of life persist

I pour out your name
upon itching, hungry ears
I sing of freedom, grace and love
I’ll sing for all my years

Feed my starving tongue
So I can spill it out again
My song is free, my life is love
My words repeat your holy name.

2 responses to “Wide Open – Poem

Leave a Reply

