Judging a Book By Its Cover

One of my favorite things to do in a bookstore is to walk around the fiction section (especially the young adult section) and gaze at the covers. I love to imagine what “my” covers would look like. I like to imagine this while I’m writing the stories, too. I look for what I like in a cover – fonts, images, style, empty spaces. Each little nuance conveys some emotion, don’t you think?

What do you like in book covers? What do you imagine for a cover for your own story? What catches your eye when you’re browsing in a bookstore?

I’m so excited to unveil the cover of my next ebook (hopefully to appear next week sometime on smashwords). The cover was done by a graphic design student named Savannah Holder, who I got to know through some other work she did for the charity: water fundraiser I held with some friends. Savannah’s design captures everything I wanted for my collection of short stories, and I think it’ll be quite the eye-catcher! Here’s the cover of my next ebook, a collection of four short stories that will be called High School Stories:

2 responses to “Judging a Book By Its Cover

  1. I like it! 🙂

    My favorite book covers tend to be simple and clean. When a cover has a bunch of “stuff,” that tells me they’re trying really hard to sell something that probably isn’t that good. 😉

    • Thanks! I was absolutely thrilled with the feel of this cover. It’s everything I imagined (without actually being able to imagine it — I’m not artsy in the way my graphic design friends are). I also like simple and clean covers — maybe we’ll start a trend!

Leave a Reply

