Books, A Love Letter

I love to cradle books in my arms, and to feel the flurry of pages brush against my fingertips.

I love the soft bend of a well-worn spine, like laugh lines or gray hairs at the temple. It’s a love that’s endured time.

I love lining the books up on my shelves in whatever way I’ve decided to organize them this time.

I love coming across a line I’d missed the hundred previous times.

I love to flip through pages and pages to find the hidden gems I vaguely remember from last time.

I love the smell of the pages and the worn covers.

I love finding a favorite book with a new design, and judging which cover I like best.

I love coming to a section that’s too suspenseful for me, and flipping ahead to read a line or two, to make sure I can take it.

I love twists and surprises. I love well-planned revenge. I love good guys winning. I love unrequited crushes. I love last laughs.

I love poetic metaphors and rarely used words. I love nouns as verbs, and adjectives that add depth. I love plots I can see and taste and feel. I love people I’ll miss when I close the pages.

I love reading and writing.

I love books.

7 responses to “Books, A Love Letter

  1. “I love lining the books up on my shelves in whatever way I’ve decided to organize them this time.”

    Me tooooooooo. I love taking down all my books and rearranging them. It’s one of my favourite activities. =D

  2. Pingback: I’m Published! … Kind of…. | christywrites

Leave a Reply

